New York Marijuana Possession Lawyer
Although some states have passed laws legalizing recreational marijuana use, possession is still illegal in New York and those facing possession charges can be subject to substantial fines and yes, even jail time.
It is important to note that New York only recently passed a law allowing for medical marijuana use in specific situations, but medical use is not the same as recreational use.
If you have been arrested for marijuana possession, it is in your best interests to contact an experienced New York marijuana possession lawyer to review your charges and determine your legal defense options so that you can make an informed decision on what is best for you.
Q:What are the marijuana possession laws in New York State?
A: Possession laws in New York vary depending on the amount (weight) of marijuana found in your possession.
Q: Can I be arrested for smoking a joint on the streets or inside parks in New York City?
A: Yes, you can. If you are caught with marijuana in public view, it is considered a misdemeanor and you are subject to a fine of $250 and the possibility of 90 days jail time.
Q: What about having a small amount of marijuana in my home or apartment or vehicle for personal use?
A: Any (unlit) amount up to 25 grams (about one ounce) will subject you to arrest but typically result in a violation and fine.
Q: How much marijuana is one ounce?
A: Using one ounce as a measurement, this video shows what one ounce looks like: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POTOphf5GUQ
Q: How many J’s can a person make from one ounce?
A: Depending on potency, one could make anywhere from 30-60 joints from one ounce of marijuana. Remember, the penalty is the same for a single joint all the way up to one ounce (60!?).
Q: What about possession for more than one ounce?
- 25 grams to 2 ounces: misdemeanor involving up to three months in prison and a $500 fine,
- 2 – 8 ounces: misdemeanor involving up to one year in prison and a $1,000 fine,
- 8 ounces – 1 pound: felony involving up to four years in prison and a $5,000 fine,
- 1 – 10 pounds: felony involving up to seven years in prison and a $5,000 fine, and
- Over 10 pounds: felony involving up to 15 in prison and a $5,000 fine.